



2023 Intake of ISC Fellows





The ISC Fellowship recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the promotion of science as a global public good. The Fellowship is the highest honour that can be conferred on an individual by the International Science Council.

council.science/about-us/fellows

ISC Fellows

Intake of December 2023

Honorary Fellows

Macharia Kamau, Kenya – Government of Kenya Csaba Kőrösi, Hungary - Government of Hungary

Fellows

Shaukat Abdulrazak, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Austria

Roula Abdel-Massih, Central Michigan University, USA

Palitha Abeykoon, World Health Organization and Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka

Alice Abreu, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Ramia Al Bakain, University of Jordan, Jordan

Mohamed-Slim Alouini, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

Amal Amin, National Research Center, Egypt

Awang Bulgiba Awang Mahmud, Academy of Sciences, Malaysia

Olubukola Oluranti Babalola, North-West University, South Africa

Paul F. Bandia, Concordia University, Canada

Hiba Baroud, Vanderbilt University, USA

Ghada Bassioni, Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt

Linda-Gail Bekker, Desmond Tutu HIV Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Paul Arthur Berkman, Science Diplomacy Center™, USA

Zulfiqar Bhutta, Aga Khan University, South-Central Asia, East Africa & United Kingdom

Gregoire Borst, Université Paris Cité (CNRS), France

Guy Brasseur, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Germany

Peter Bridgewater, Australian National University, Australia

Paul Cannon, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom

Deliang Chen, Department of Earth Sciences, University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Jun Chen, National Geomatics Center, China

John Church, Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales, Australia

Mareli Claassens, University of Namibia, Namibia

E William Colglazier, American Association for the Advancement of Science, USA

Hanna Dabkowska, International Union of Crystallography and McMaster University, Canada

Rana Dajani, The Hashemite University / Society for Advancement of Science and Technology in the Arab World, Jordan

Felix Dapare Dakora, Chemistry Department, Tshwane University of Technology, South Africa

Silvina Ponce Dawson, University of Buenos Aires and CONICET, Argentina

Meghnath Dhimal, Nepal Health Research Council, Nepal

Roseanne Diab, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Robbert Dijkgraaf, Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Netherlands

Laura Ferrarese, National Research Council of Canada, Canada

Tamás Freund, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Bojie Fu, Research Centre for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Javier García Martínez, University of Alicante, Spain

Shaily Gandhi, CEPT Research and Development Foundation, India

Leopoldo Gerhardinger, Institute of Environmental Science and Technology, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain

Margaret (Peggy) Hamburg, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), USA

Hussam Hussein, Royal Scientific Society (RSS), Jordan

Asma Ismail, International Islamic University, Malaysia

Daniela Jacob, Climate Service Center Germany (GERICS) / Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon GmbH, Germany

Saroj Jayasinghe, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Lekelia Jenkins, Arizona State University, USA

Carlos Alberto Vargas Jiménez, Colombia National University, Colombia

Renaud Jolivet, Maastricht University, Switzerland

Matthias Kaiser, University of Bergen, Norway

Mitsunobu R. Kano, Okayama University, Japan

Maki Kawai, National Institute of Natural Sciences, Japan

S. Karly Kehoe, Saint Mary's University, Canada

Haseena Khan, University Grants Commission and Bangladesh Academy of Sciences, Bangladesh

Naim Akhtar Khan, University of Bourgogne and INSERM U 1231, France

Jennifer E. Lansford, Duke University, USA

Benedikt Löwe, University of Hamburg and University of Cambridge, Germany & United Kingdom

John Ludden, GEORG Geothermal Research Cluster, Iceland

Wolfgang Lutz, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), Austria

Roy MacLeod, University of Sydney, Australia

Alberto Mantovani, Humanitas Clinical Research Institute, Italy

Narinder Mehra, Indian National Science Academy, India

Lai Meng Looi, University of Malaya / Academy of Sciences, Malaysia

Peter Messerli, Wyss Academy for Nature at the University of Bern, Switzerland

Jovana Milic, Adolphe Merkle Institute, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Dikabo Mogopodi, Botswana Academy of Science, Botswana

Andreea Molnar, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Barend Mons, Leiden University, Netherlands

Jan Marco Müller, European Commission, DG Research and Innovation, Belgium

Virginia Murray, UK Health Security Agency, United Kingdom

Vasey Mwaja, Kenya National Academy of Sciences, Kenya

Vidushi Neergheen, University of Mauritius, Mauritius

Marian Asantewah Nkansah, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology / Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences, Ghana

Bruce Ovbiagele, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Edgar Pieterse, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Wibool Piyawattanametha, King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang and Michigan State University, Thailand

Cheryl Praeger, University of Western Australia, Australia

Emmanuel Raju, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Gabriela Ramos, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), France

Keywan Riahi, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Austria

Anina Rich, School of Psychological Sciences, Macquarie University, Australia

Moritz Riede, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Clarissa Rios Rojas, United Nations, United Kingdom

Corina Risso, Institute of Basic, Applied and Environmental Geosciences of Buenos Aires, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina

Brian Schmidt, Australian National University, Australia

Palesa Sekhejane, Human Sciences Research Council, South Africa

S. Ravi P. Silva, University of Surrey, United Kingdom

Katalin Solymosi, Eötvös Loránd University / Young Academy of Europe, Hungary

Hamish Spencer, University of Otago, New Zealand

Nils Christian Stenseth, Centre for Ecological and Evolutionary Synthesis (CEES), University of Oslo, Norway

Magdalena Stoeva, International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine, Bulgaria **Ramesh T. Subramaniam**, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Suad Sulaiman, Sudanese National Academy of Sciences (SNAS), Sudan

Oyewale Tomori, Redeemer University, Nigeria

Collin Tukuitonga, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland, New Zealand **Jacqueline Uku**, Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute, Kenya

Joachim von Braun, Bonn University, Center for Development Research, Germany

Cyrus Pan Walther, International Association of Physics Students / TU Dortmund University, Germany

Jun Xia, Research Institute for Water Security / School of Water Resources and Hydropower Engineering, Wuhan University, China

Khatijah Yusoff, National Institutes of Biotechnology Malaysia / Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia **Yongguan Zhu**, Research Center for Eco-environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

See the full list of Fellows, along with the Fellowship Council, <u>here</u>.